Classification of listed buildings

Understanding the difference between Grade I, Grade II and Grade II*
Get a quote!
Classification of listed buildings

Listing is an identification stage where buildings are marked and celebrated as having architectural or historic special interest. Being listed means that consent must be applied for in order to make any changes to that building which might affect its special interest.

Buildings are usually listed following the survey of an area or a building preservation notice by a local planning authority. Occasionally, individual properties can be ‘spot listed’ if they are threatened by development or demolition. Classification of listed buildings varies by country.

Listed buildings in England and Wales

As of 2016 there were over 376,000 listed buildings recorded in England, and 30,000 in Wales.

  • Grade II – 92% of all listed buildings are Grade II buildings of special architectural or historical interest. This the most likely grade of listing for homeowners.
  • Grade II* – 5.5% of listed buildings are Grade II*. These buildings are particularly important and deemed to be of more than special interest.
  • Grade I – Just 2.5% of listed buildings are Grade I. These buildings are of exceptional interest.

Listed buildings in Scotland

There are around 47,000 listed buildings in Scotland.

  • Category A – Of national or international architectural importance, or a fine example of some particular period.
  • Category B – Of regional importance, or a major example of some particular period or style which may have been altered.
  • Category C – Buildings of local importance, or a lesser example of any period or style, as originally constructed or moderately altered; and traditional buildings.

Listed buildings in Northern Ireland

Over 8,500 buildings are listed in Northern Ireland.

  • Grade A – Buildings of great architectural importance, and the least altered examples of a particular style or period.
  • Grade B+ – A building that may merit grade A because of exceptional features, interiors or environmental qualities but has an incomplete design.
  • Grade B – Buildings of local importance and good examples of a particular period or style, where a degree of alteration or imperfection is acceptable.

HomeProtect is committed to the preservation of the UK’s architectural heritage. We will do everything in our power to deliver a competitive home insurance quote for your listed building, no matter what classification of listed property you have.

Get a quote for your listed building insurance online

Get a quote!